HomeTexas Sports Betting NewsHouston Texans Name Rookie CJ Stroud as Starting Quarterback

Houston Texans Name Rookie CJ Stroud as Starting Quarterback

In a move Sunday that surprised no one, Houston Texans Head Coach DeMeco Ryans named rookie quarterback CJ Stroud as the team's starting quarterback when the team meets the Baltimore Ravens on September 10.

Image: IMAGO / ZUMA Wire

DeMeco was the last NFL coach to name a starter. Still, he told reporters,

“It’s been over the course of the entire process of OTAs, training camp preseason games, just seeing the complete product and knowing CJ’s desire to continue to better,” Ryans said after the win.

Of the 17 quarterbacks selected in the top five of the NFL draft since the 2011 collective bargaining agreement, 11 have started their team’s Week 1 game. This season is no exception–Carolina named their top pick Bryce Young as a starter, and Indianapolis named top choice Anthony Richardson as their starter.

Finally, Moving On From Deshaun Watson Era

Houston has had a difficult time replacing former quarterback Deshaun Watson. Texans quarterbacks have combined for the 31st-best quarterback rating, which had much to do with their abysmal 7-26-1 record over the past two seasons.

Stroud started every preseason contest and went 11-of-18 for 89 yards with one touchdown and one interception in eight series. Stroud told reporters

“It was definitely a blessing, something that I think I worked for and definitely earned, At the same time, nothing else really changes. Still going to work like the way I’m working but even more now. I’m blessed enough to be able to be a starter, so young in this league, which isn’t the easiest thing to do. But I know my coaches have trust and faith in me, so I’ll go out there and do my best.”

The Texans likely found themselves a good one in Stroud. The Ohio State Buckeye alum threw for 8,123 yards and 85 scoring strikes with a dozen interceptions over 27 career starts.

2023 Offensive Rookie of the Year Odds

Note: Betting on sports in the state of Texas is prohibited.

DraftKings has Stroud on the board as the 4th favorite to win the 2023 Offensive Rookie of the Year Award (+850). The top five favorites on the DraftKings betting board are;

  1. Bijan Robinson +275
  2. Bryce Young +500
  3. Anthony Richardson +600
  4. CJ Stroud +850
  5. Jahmyr Gibbs +1000

Running backs have shorter careers than other positions, so I won’t ever back a running back to win any individual awards. Robinson is the frontrunner. +275 is a reasonable price, but the future ticket is a bust if he gets hurt in Week 1. The same goes for Gibbs as a great price, but not for an NFL running back.

Young, Richardson, and Stroud are all priced in the same range, and there is value in all three.

Stroud’s presence will likely improve Houston far more than Young in Carolina and Richardson in Indianapolis. The Texans could win as many as seven games this season, and if they do, it will likely be the former Buckeyes star who wins the 2023 NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Finally, it will likely come down to either Young or Stroud. I don’t usually wager on preseason individual future awards, but if I did, I would bet 0.5 units on Young and 0.5 units on Stroud at DraftKings. This way, I only risk one unit total with two chances to make a big profit with minimal risk.

For more information about the state of online gambling in Texas, make sure you follow us here at Betting TX.